Oliver Parker Biography

Oliver Parker first feature, a film adaptation of Othello, was released in 1995 and starred Laurence Fishburne and Kenneth Branagh.  His next film was an adaptation of Oscar Wilde’s An Ideal Husband, starring Cate Blanchett, Minnie Driver, Rupert Everett, Julianne Moore and Jeremy Northam.  The film was nominated for two Golden Globes and three BAFTAs.  He also directed an adaptation of The Importance of Being Earnest,starring Reese Witherspoon, Judi Dench, Rupert Everett and Colin Firth. 

His other feature film credits include Fade to Black, starring Danny Huston and Christopher Walken; I Really Hate My Job, starring Neve Campbell, Shirley Henderson and Anna Maxwell Martin; Dorian Gray, starring Colin Firth, Ben Barnes and Rebecca Hall; and St. Trinian’s.  Most recently, Parker directed St. Trinian’s II: The Legend of Fritton’s Gold,starring Rupert Everett, Colin Firth and Jodie Whittaker.

His television work includes The Private Life of Samuel Pepys, starring Steve Coogan; Billingsgate Alfie, starring Jim Broadbent;and Copper Clive, starring Steve Tompkinson.
Prior to becoming a film director and screenwriter, Parker worked extensively as an actor and theatre director, spending three years at the Dog Company with legendary horror maestro Clive Barker. 

Johnny English Reborn 2011
St Trinian's 2: The Legend of Fritton's Gold 2009
Dorian Gray 2007
St Trinian's2007
I Really Hate My Job 2006
Fade to Black 2003
The Private Life of Samuel Pepys (TV movie) 2002
The Importance of Being Earnest 1999
An Ideal Husband 1995