Festival Of Cannes 2005

Cannes 2005 will present 53 films representing 28 countries,

a rain of stars is expected at the Croisette, such as: David Cronenberg, Wim Wenders, Lars Von Trier, Jim Jarmusch,Val Kilmer, Ewan McGregor, Samuel Jackson, Danny Golver, Viggo Mortensen, Bill Murray, Gael Garcia Bernal, Bruce Willis, Benicio del Toro, Sharon Stone, Scarlett Johannsson, Asia Argento, Nathalie Portman, Tilda Swinton, Zhang Ziyi, Eva Marie Saint, Jessica Alba et Jessica Lange.

The death of Jacques Poitrenaud leaves the Festival de Cannes without one of its faithful travelling companions. An untiring promoter and ardent enthusiast of French film, Jacques, at Cannes was head of the section Perspectives du Cinéma Français and then, for ten years, of the official selection Un Certain Regard. He was also the author of mischievous comedies in which the actors had as much fun as the audience.
In memory of him, the Festival de Cannes has decided to pay him tribute by dedicating the 2005 edition of Un Certain Regard to Jacques Poitrenaud.

The director Edward Yang will preside over the Cinéfondation and Short Films Jury for the 58th Festival de Cannes, following in the footsteps of Nikita Mikhalkov, Martin Scorsese, Luc Dardenne or Thomas Vinterberg

Cécile de France will be the master of ceremony for the Festival de Cannes 2005. She will open the 58th Festival on May 11th and welcome the jury and its President, Emir Kusturica, to the stage of the Palais des Festivals. Cécile de France will also host the Award Ceremony on Saturday May 21st  

24th February 2005  Alexander Payne will be the president of the Un Certain Regard Jury, an official selection of the Festival de Cannes, from May 11th to 22nd.

Abbas Kiarostami is to be President of the Jury for the Caméra d'Or at the next Festival of Cannes which is to take place from May 11th to 22nd 2005.